One fine sparkl’n morn

I suggest listening to this tune from Jay Ungar while reading my poem below:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MaCazf36D3k

This sparkl’n morn

my mind got shorn

of modern stuff when

snowy fluff

flew in my head

instead:

I know I know

what memories these are I think I know

Pull out me ole buckboard wagon

while routine tasks  be laggin’

n sun-bright winter morn

of crisp cold sparkles leapin’

beneath them high-steppin’ hooves

it sho’ behooves

me here somehow in long gone valleys’ Appalachian

long lost memories a-hatchin’

buckboard dreams n

bak’n beans o’er the fire

n some long gone shire

I know I know

what flashes these be I think I see

me n thee trav’lin time and time agin

don’ know how don’ know when

but I know this I somehow know

Pull out me ole fiddle n

fiddle awhile sling out me ole singsong

n singalong tagalong we go

behind horse drawn in the snow

then sway’n ‘cross the kitchen flo’

while the ole fiddles wail

n horse’s whishin’ tail

where it come from I don’ know

yet I do know I know

I think I hear I hear it in the wind

same ole tune from long ago

maybe waltz

from mem’ries toss’d

them gran’pas have send

or gran’mas somehow do lend

to tune our imaginary ears

n sway away our twenty-first fears

how it was in that day n time

front porch boards whistlin’ in

winter wind while kickin’

snowy shoes at the door

before all this other stuff

come along I see

me an thee

when pony heals kick up fluff

cold n white n spark’n fine

n snowy valleys froze in time

in someone’s mind

I know it mine.

It sho’ do shine.

Glass half-Full

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

