Crawling upon the sands of Time

 

If I had a pair of ragged claws

scuttling through surf-tossed sands,

I’d crawl up on this shellshorn beach.

I’d raise my thorny head

to see what I could see

to survey this continental conglomerate

that rises before me

like something big and fixed in time.

Whatever this is,

it is not akin to my ocean, no,

not in constant motion,

but something solid is it

something accumulated in time

something sedimented

into one big thing:

conglbchrck

If I could drag me crusty self

upon that stony shore

I would find me windblown

wood grown structure there to rest

beneath its boney  covering crest

and call meself at home.

bchtreeU

But wait! What’s this?

A thorny beast arrests me quest!

This spiny splort to thwart my sport!

Who goes there?

blowfsh2

Declare yourself if ye be man or beast!

Shucks. ‘T’was what I wanted least,

to share me beach with such a quilly guy,

to see me thorny self within his eye.

Pshaw! to put it politely,

‘though I could use another word,

one that you have prob’ly heard.

Glass Chimera

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

